How does domain creation work?

Hello there,

I am new to the concept of DNS and especially to deSEC. There are a few things related to the same topic I don’t understand at the moment, maybe there’ll be more :).

• Do I need to buy a domain/subdomain somewhere from a domain provider, add it to my domains and then share the information that appears just after creating the domain (I tried a test domain with .dedyn.io) or is it just as easy as claiming a free subdomain (e.g. example.dedyn.io), even with the API, and using it as if I had bought a domain without informing anyone about it?
    I’m not really sure, because the Terms of Use claim the following:

… may receive a deletion warning and may be deleted four weeks thereafter if that condition still applies.

Anyone who can prove ownership of a domain name by an upstream registry may claim control over this domain at all deSEC nameservers

• If it would be the case that I can register a domain with dedyn.io, how would I set it up, because I’d still need to use the information provided in the instructions to set up that domain, that should normally be sent to the domain provider?

I’d be happy if someone could clarify the whole thing for me and please excuse my apparent lack of knowledge in that area. Thank you very much!

I’m a bit unclear as to what your actual questions are. But maybe this will help?

That depends on your use case. dedyn.io subdomains are meant primarily for DDNS (dynamic DNS) use. I.e. when you want a resolvable name for your host when it is on a connection with dynamic (changing) IPs as in many home Internet connection setups.

Thus deSEC reserves the right to clean up seemingly unused (unchanged) subdomains after a while to prevent old garbage subdomains from accumulating.

Note: DDNS also works best with very short TTLs. Subdomains of dedyn.io are automatically set up for this.