Need help create PTR entry

Hi,

I have created a new domain and added all the usual DNS entries like MX, A, CNAME and TXT etc. needed for my local mail server setup.

All working fine but, sending mails to Gmail or hot mail are failing saying PTR record not found.

I am new to this and unable to figure out how to create one. When reading some documents, they mentioned that I need to create DNS zones and add PTR entry there. Does that mean, I need to create a new domain with in my DeSEC account?

Could you please let me know with instructions on how to create DNS zone and PTR records. Below are example details of my setup:

deSEC Domain Name: abcd.dedyn.io
My mail server domain: mail.abcd.dedyn.io
My Public IP: 123.345.567.789

Thanks for your help in advance.

All working fine but, sending mails to Gmail or hot mail are failing saying PTR record not found.

PTR = also known as reverse DNS

You see your current PTR with:

dig -x IP-OF-YOUR-MAILSERVER

It need to bee resolve to mail.abcd.dedyn.io (respectively your smtp HELO message).

You must discuss this topic with the owner of the IP address. Usually your Internet service provider (if we’re talking about a mailserver at your home) or your server provider. If it at your home: Please note that most of these IP addresses are already on various blacklists.

Tipp: Test your mailserver with https://mail-tester.com/ before you use them.

Thanks @markus for the quick response.

Below is the output I get for the command given (please note that I had to redact my IP address):

root@sl:/var/log# dig -x 123.345.567.789

; <<>> DiG 9.18.12-0ubuntu0.22.04.3-Ubuntu <<>> -x 123.345.567.789
;; global options: +cmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NXDOMAIN, id: 45012
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 0, AUTHORITY: 1, ADDITIONAL: 1

;; OPT PSEUDOSECTION:
; EDNS: version: 0, flags:; udp: 65494
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;789.567.345.123.in-addr.arpa.	IN	PTR

;; AUTHORITY SECTION: