ERROR: 216 No visible DNSKEY found signing the DNSKEY RR obtained in response

Hi,

I have a .de domain registered via do.de .
I set up the desec nameservers in the configuration of my domain (aaron-schaal.de). However, enabling DNSSEC gives me the following error message (probably from denic):

Nameserver error [ERROR: 216 No visible DNSKEY found signing the DNSKEY RR obtained in response]

There is no possibility to enter the DS keys on do.de, but only DNSSEC records.
I guess they need the 256 DNSSEC record for the zone, not only the 257 key record. (however I am very new to DNSSEC at all… But it has worked with a 256 record from another nameserver/DNS provider (1984.hosting) already)

Is there any way to retrieve my 256 DNSSEC record from desec.io?

This issue is very similar to Denic Error 217 "No Visible DNSKEY Found" … However, the error code is 216 , not 217 …

Do you have any idea what I can do (other than contacting the do.de support)?

Thanks!

Hi phonon112358,

Your real problem seems to be that the de. zone does not contain the DS records for your domain.

Take a look at:
https://dnsviz.net/d/aaron-schaal.de/dnssec/

I do not know what (if any) mechanisms do.de has for communicating the DS records to the parent zone (de.). But if you registered the domain through them, then they would need to communicate with DENIC for this.

As for the question about 256 (ZSK) vs. 257 (KSK) DNSKEY records: deSEC uses a CSK (Combined Signing Key). There is no 256 (ZSK). A CSK is basically identical to a KSK but it is used to sign both DNSKEY records and the rest of the records in the zone. This is a perfectly valid setup. The only drawback is key rotation which requires an update of the DS records in the parent zone.

Note that I have no knowledge of how do.de works. I had never heard of them before your post.