KSK key rollover and DS update

Hi!

I’m new to deSEC and maybe I’m missing some documentation? But I was wondering about the Key Signing Key (KSK) rollovers, which I presume are happening occasionally, and the associated need to update the DS record in the parent domain.

So first question: Will the DNSKEYs used as KSKs be periodically rotated by the deSEC system?

If so it becomes necessary to also change the DS record in the parent domain when a new key becomes active. Since anything related to the parent domain (e.g. glue NS records and DS records) seems to be outside the scope for deSEC how is this supposed to work?

Note: I would normally expect a process similar to the following for a KSK rotation:

1. A new DNSKEY with flags set for a KSK is generated and added to the zone. (The previous KSK is still present and used to to sign the DNSKEY RRSet.)
  2. The new KSK is used to generate an additional RRSIG record signing the DNSKEY RRSet. So there would be 2 RRSIG records for the DNSKEY RRSet at this point. But, if the initial setup was done correctly then the DS record in the parent domain would still point to the old KSK and thus the RRSIG associated with the old KSK would be used to verify the DNSKEY RRSet.
  3. ??? Some mechanism would need to trigger getting a DS record for the new KSK and adding it to the parent domain.
  4. Wait for the relevant (DNSKEY) TTLs to expire.
  5. Remove the DS record for the old KSK from the parent domain.
  6. Wait for the relevant (DS) TTLs to expire.
  7. Remove the old KSK and the RRSIG using the old KSK from the zone.

Thanks!

BTW: Given what I have seen so far with other DNS providers regarding DNSSEC support, deSEC seems like a great idea! Thanks for building and maintaining this :grinning: :+1:

fiwswe

I just noticed that domains hosted by deSEC only have a single DNSKEY, i.e. no separation between KSK and Zone Signing Key (ZSK).